Ads 468x60px

Tuesday, March 31, 2015

Madonna Rebel Heart Album Review

I received this product for the purpose of this review. All opinions states are my own and may differ from yours.
 Madonna Rebel Heart Album Review
I've been listening to Madonna's music since high school when the original self-titled Madonna album came out. Yeah, I've been around that long. She recently released her thirteenth studio album, Rebel Heart, and first since the disappointing MDNA album. At 2 million sales worldwide, can you really call an album disappointing? Of the prior twelve, it was the lowest in sales though. What follows are my thoughts on lucky number 13.

Before getting into the details of the album, it is important to mention what happened before the album was released. There was a serious leak of about thirty potential album songs last year. Six tracks ended up being released early as part of a pre-order push on iTunes. An Israeli hacker got arrested and life goes on.

As far as the album goes, nineteen tracks ended up on the album. Two singles so far have been released, the opening track Living for Love and Ghosttown. As a whole, the album is an interesting mix of ballads, and more update business, and more, with collaborations from Nicki Minaj, Kanye West, Nas, Chance the Rapper and Mike Tyson. With such a wide variety of input, the album offers a wide variety of music, not streamlining for a single target audience. You also get some pretty explicit content, including language and references to sex and drugs. At my age, none of that phases me, but I'd be hesitant to give the album to a less mature teen.

While there is good here, I think all the collaborations and issues with leakage, make the album full of bloat, taking the album down a path of less quality. With nineteen songs, though, there is plenty to remove and still get a decent album out of it, with perhaps a dozen songs. Ghosttown is probably my most favorite, with the title track Rebel Heart coming in a close second. Joan of Arc offers a look at the artist's vulnerable.

Track Listing
  1. Living For Love
  2. Devil Pray
  3. Ghosttown
  4. Unapologetic Bitch
  5. Illuminati
  6. Bitch I'm Madonna
  7. Hold Tight
  8. Joan Of Arc
  9. Iconic
  10. HeartBreakCity
  11. Body Shop
  12. Holy Water
  13. Inside Out
  14. Wash All Over Me
  15. Best Night
  16. Veni Vidi Vici
  17. S.E.X.
  18. Messiah
  19. Rebel Heart
Be sure to check out the album on iTunes to decide for yourself if it is worthy. There are some gems in the rough here, you just gotta get through that rest.

I participated in the Madonna Rebel Heart album review program as a member of One2One Network. I was provided an album to review but all opinions are my own.