Ads 468x60px

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Emmy Rossum Sentimental Journey CD Review, to be Released 1/29/13

Emmy Rossum, Sentimental Journey Album Cover

Coming out on January 29th, 2013 is the latest album from the multi-talented actress and singer Emmy Rossum, Sentimental Journey. It is a collection of covers taking you through 12 months of the American Songbook, each month represented by a different track.
"Each song needed to either lyrically or emotionally reflect the corresponding month," Emmy explained. "Some songs were obvious fits, like Summer Wind for June, and Pretty Paper for December. Others songs were less literal fits. I chose Nobody Knows You (When You're Down and Out) for September because, to me, the plaintive melody and lyric emotionally reflect the cold weather creeping in and the sense of melancholy we can get in the fall months."
Three profile pictures of Emmy
I first listened to the album late one night as I was winding down for the day. It really set the mood for a mellow evening. The songs all had that familiar tone, as they are covers, where the original versions of the songs all come from the 1920s-1960s. Ms. Rossum provides her emotional rendition of each quite strongly, as if they were all her own and she's been singing them for ages.
Emmy in an old style dress

With that said, this album is definitely not for most teenagers. The audience is someone more into old school music, like my in-laws perhaps, or father. Some youngsters like this kind of music, but most do not. I don't know if that will hinder album sales as it is the younger crowd that buys most music these days. Perhaps the younger crowd might give it a try if they like her as Fiona Gallagher in Showtime's Shameless.

Inner album cover
She's come a long way from As The World Turns. With that said, the album is more inline with her singing from the movie adaptation of Phantom of the Opera she performed back in 2004. Very strong jazzy sounds.

A list of the album's tracks follows. Online versions of the album include the bonus track #13.

Track Listings

  1. “Sentimental Journey” (Les Brown, Ben Homer, Arthur Green)
  2. “The Object Of My Affection” (Pinky Tomlin)
  3. “I’m Looking Over A Four Leaf Clover “(Mort Dixon, Harry M. Woods)
  4. “These Foolish Things (Remind Me Of You)” (Eric Maschwitz, Jack Strachey)
  5. “(I’ll Be With You) In Apple Blossom Time” (Albert Von Tilzer, Neville Fleeson)
  6. “Summer Wind” (Heinz Meier, Johnny Mercer)
  7. “Many Tears Ago” (Winfield Scott)
  8. “All I Do Is Dream Of You” (Nacio Herb Brown, Arthur Freed)
  9. “Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out” (Jimmy Cox)
  10. “Autumn Leaves” (Joseph Kosma, Jacques Prévert)
  11. “Things” (Bobby Darin)
  12. “Pretty Paper” (Willie Nelson)
  13. Keep Young And Beautiful (Eddie Cantor) (Bonus Track)
Here's the These Foolish Things (Remind Me Of You) music video for you to sample her voice and hear for yourself the tone of the album.
You can pickup the album starting January 29 in stores or online at Amazon or iTunes, and you can connect with Emmy on Twitter @EmmyRossum, too.

It looks like Emmy will be busy in the run up to the album release. You'll hear her perform on Access Hollywood on January 25th, and see her as a guest on Conan on the 28th, Chelsea Lately on the 29th, and with Craig Ferguson on The Late Late Show on February 6th. That is, in addition to the work associated with her starring role on the Showtime series Shameless and the upcoming film Beautiful Creatures.

Remind  yourself to pickup the album once it is released on the 29th (of January).


DisclosureI participated in this campaign for One2One Network. I received a free copy of the CD to facilitate my review. By posting, I am eligible for incentives. All opinions stated are my own. See my disclosure policy for more information.


Post a Comment